Power Up! Scratch Game Design Ages 7-10 & 10-12

Some previous Scratch coding helpful but not essential. Campers are generally split into two groups by age and skill level: 7-10 years & 10-12 years.

In this camp the focus is Game Design! Think Power-Ups, Levels, Collectibles, Obstacles, Lives, Health and Scores!

Scratch is a visual block based coding language that allows users to create interactive stories and games! It’s quick learning curve offers a great deal of independence to new game designers!

Campers will tackle new coding concepts, such as: variables, loops, and broadcast statements. We will also take a more in-depth look at Game and level design.

By week’s end campers will have a number of games to share with friends and family!

$89.00

In stock

DATE: Aug 3-6th

This is a 4-DAY virtual camp 2.5 hrs/day

TIMES: 12:00-2:30 PM AST (Nova Scotia, NB, PEI)
And 11:00-1:30 PM EST (Ontario, New York)

TIMES IN DIFFERENT LOCATIONS
Please double check your local times for accuracy
4:00-6:30 PM GMT – London, United Kingdom
12:00-2:30 PM AST – Nova Scotia, New Brunswick
11:00-1:30 PM EST – Ontario, New York, Florida
10:00-12:30 PM CST- Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, Wisconsin
9:00-11:30 AM MST – Alberta, Colorado, Mexico
8:00-10:30 AM PST – Vancouver, Washington, California 

Add to your skills with another Game Design camp: Try Pacman to Pokemon!

Space Game code by Lily

Program Benefits

This program will equip your child with the essential skills for digital literacy:

  • Coding
  • Problem Solving
  • Collaboration

We provide a creative and socially stimulating learning environment that will boost your child’s:

 

  • Self-Esteem
  • Independence
  • Creativity

Take a Sneek Peek

Into one of the classes

Hear what Jennifer tells Sam about the games they created in the Scratch Coding camp!

How do I prepare for virtual programs?

How do I join the class?

  • You will receive a Zoom Access Link by email on the Saturday before the camp starts.

Requirements to follow along in this program:

  • Mac, PC Computer
  • Web Cam & Good Internet Connect
  • Access to Zoom Video Conferencing
  • Refer to the two Setup videos below for software requirements

How to get set up with Zoom Sign Up With Zoom

Get set up with Scratch – available for MacOS and PC computers. Sign Up With Scratch